newbie needs help to configure USG 40W, set in DMZ behind a router

Options
Horia
Horia Posts: 33  Freshman Member
Friend Collector First Comment
edited April 2021 in Security
Hi! where could I receive help to setup an USG 40W? I am a newbie, have only experience with small home routers.
My setup is the following:
[internet] > TG588v router (with ddns domain) > DMZ > USG 40W > LAN > two simple devices with web-interface (1-home KNX server, 2-surveillance camera recorder)

target:
to reach the USG40W from the internet, to connect to it by VPN. Through the VPN, I would like to connect to the two LAN devices (which have web-interfaces).

what I did:
I setup a ddns for the external IP of the router (the router comes from the internet provider, there is no possiblity to get a permanent, static IP address for it). Also I setup an "always up" condition for the router (so it does not disconnect from the internet when not in use).
I then connected the USG40 to the router, setting it in the DMZ zone of the router, so it receives the external IP of the router and it is not behind the firewall of the router.

I was first able to reach the web-interface (for login into VPN) of the USG, from outside (the internet). A few hours later, this was not possible anymore.
I checked the settings, but still cannot understand what happened. As I have no experience with this kind of firewalls, it would be great if I you could help or tell me where I could find a step-by-step explanation for the necessary Zyxel USG 40 settings.

thanks in advance!

Comments

• Zyxel_Charlie
    Zyxel_Charlie Posts: 1,034  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary Friend Collector First Answer First Comment
    Options
    Hello Horia,
    I want to double confirm few things with you 
    1. does TG588v router you configured is bridge mode? 
    2. When the VPN disconnected, can you check the internet connection on both site?
    3. Since you mentioned the external IP is dynamic, did you configure DDNS on USG40W?