IPsec VPN with NAT

SMarkG
SMarkG Posts: 14
First Anniversary Friend Collector First Comment
We are soon to start using a software system that is hosted by the softwre supplier. To allow our staff to connect to it they require us to set up a site-to-site VPN. I've never done this before but have read the tutorials and I think I'm OK with the process of setting up the VPN Gateway and Connection.

However, they have also asked that we NAT our subnet behind a single /32 IP address that they have provided. I'm happy with the principle of that but I'm not sure how to actually set it up on my firewall.

Could someone give me an idiots guide on how to proceed please? I'm using a ZyWall 310.

Thanks in advance.

All Replies

• SMarkG
    Thanks very much @Fred_77 and @PeterUK. I'm sure I read those article previously (I've read so many trying to figure this out that I've lost track!). However, if I've understood it correctly, the 'NATted subnet' and the local subnet have to be the same size (so there's a 1:1 translation between the 'real' IP addresses and the addresses presented to the remote peer). The help section for the VPN Connection says,

Outbound Traffic
    SourceSelect the address object that represents the original source address (or select Create Object to configure a new one). This is the address object for the computer or network outside the local network. The size of the original source address range (Source) must be equal to the size of the translated source address range (SNAT).

DestinationSelect the address object that represents the original destination address (or select Create Object to configure a new one). This is the address object for the remote network.