SFP+ 10GBase-T Compatibility and XS1930-10 Questions

I am new to SFP+.

I want to add an SFP+ 10GBase-T (RJ-45/Copper) to my XS1930-10 to use at 10Gbps.

I tried a 10Gtek and while initially it seemed it was working fine I experience multiple problems.

Can you pls share any 10GBase-T that works fine with the XS1930-10?

Also, in the port status section, what am I supposed to see? The link status between the switch and the SFP_ transceiver? or the status of the link between the XS1930 and the other endpoint?

The reason I asking is that the port status always showed 10G/F  Forwarding even when the cable was not connected to the SFP+.  Connecting and disconnecting the patch cable did not make any change. Also the blue light was always solid.

Accepted Solution

• Zyxel_Melen
    Zyxel_Melen Posts: 1,591  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓
    Hi @Av3ng3r,

I have used our RJ-45 SFP module to replicate this issue and there's no problem after rebooting the switch.
    So I think this is more likely not XS1930's issue. It might be a compatibility issue between your SFP module and XS1930-10.

Zyxel Melen

All Replies

• mMontana
    mMontana Posts: 1,298  Guru Member
    What 10Gtek tells you for the compatibility of SFP+ module (model non provided) with the specific Zyxel switch?
  • Zyxel_Melen
    edited October 2022
    Hi @Av3ng3r,

We have listed our Zyxel transceivers on our XS1930 datasheet which we guarantee will work.

For other SFP modules, we do not guarantee it works properly on our switch.

The port status 
    section shows the status between the XS1930 and the other endpoint.
    When the cable is not connecting to the SFP+, it will show "link down" on port status.
    The problem you faced might be due to the compatibility issue.

Zyxel Melen

• @Zyxel_Melen

Thank you for the list. however, I am looking for 10G-BaseT copper. I wished  Zyxel had one of those for 80m.

• @Zyxel_Melen @mMontana