XS1930 - SFP 1Gbps

Options
ISD
ISD Posts: 2
First Comment
Good morning, I'm planning to move the a full 10Gbps the office ( a dozen of PC, server and workstation) I plan to use initially one XS1930 with 8 10G ports and 2 SFP+ and I have several questions:
- could I install the Zyxel XGN100C 10G SFP+ PCIE CPNT card on the server and connect to the switch through the a DAC Cable?
- Could I use the second SFP+ port to connect to an holder switch that has only SFP ports (no SFP Plus)
Basically For the moment I would be happy to use 8 ports to connect the workstation, the first SFP+ Port to connect the server and the second SFP+ port to connect the old switch at 1Gb, connected to printers, and other PC not requiring higher connection. I plan in the future to buy another XS19030, if needed, and connect the two through a SFP+ connection.
As I'm not experienced on the subject, I would like to know if what I'm thinking is feasible and if there is anything particular to verify when I have to buy the hardware
many thanks

Accepted Solution

• Zyxel_Melen
    Zyxel_Melen Posts: 1,639  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Hi @ISD,

Yes, you could use the SFP+ port to connect the SFP port of another switch. The SFP+ port support SFP+ and SFP module. You just need to make sure the SFP modules are using same speed.
    About the fiber, I recommend checking the SFP module datasheet. It will tell you which connector and the Optical fiber type you should use.

The Below screenshot is the example. The SFP-LX-10-E needs Duplex LC with single mode fiber.
    The SFP-BX1310-10-D needs Single LC with single mode fiber.

Zyxel Melen

All Replies

• Zyxel_Melen
    Options
    Hi @ISD,

Welcome to the Zyxel community!
    I recommend using XGS100F instead of XGN100C since the DAC cable uses SFP+ interface on both ends.
    Also, you could check the device's datasheet to check which SFP module is supported.