USG Flex 100 problem setting up L2TP VPN from Wizard

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and I'm trying to set up a L2TP VPN with a USG Flex 100 but without good results.

I tried to use the wizard for it but it just doesn't work, I can't connect form another line. This is the LOG when I try to connect:

I tried to look it up on Google but all the guides didn't help me..

So.. The LAN is in the subnet 10.0.0.0/24 while the Firewall and Router are in the 192.168.0.0/24. I want the users connecting through the VPN to be in the 192.168.51.0/24 subnet and I need them just to access to some shared folders in the server (10.0.0.2), don't want them to navigate with it.

I'm gonna try post my configuration so that maybe someone is gonna find some problems within it.

If I missed anything just let me know, thank you all.

Accepted Solution

• Zyxel_Jeff
    Zyxel_Jeff Posts: 1,039  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓

Hi @Rgnvdjfgdfg

Because your scenario belongs to L2TP behind NAT, you should add a registry key called AssumeUDPEncapsulationContextOnSendRule and set it to 2 on your Windows PC and then the L2TP VPN connection should be working for you.

Configure L2TP/IPsec server behind NAT-T device - Windows Server

Create a registry key on Windows PC Client:
    (1) Start > cmd > Enter "regedit"
    (2) Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\PolicyAgent
    (3) Add a RWORD(32 bit), and name is: AssumeUDPEncapsulationContextOnSendRule
    (4) Edit value as 2
    (5) Reboot PC.

On Windows 10, edit in the registry and then reboot.
    REG ADD HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\PolicyAgent /v AssumeUDPEncapsulationContextOnSendRule /t REG_DWORD /d 0x2 /f

Thanks😀.

All Replies

• Zyxel_Jeff

Hello @Rgnvdjfgdfg