13»

All Replies

• USG_User
    USG_User Posts: 369  Master Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited September 2021
    Thanks for your effort Peter.

Peter_UK wrote:
    "however looking at your NAK vs my NAK the Client IP address and Your (client) IP address is 192.168.2.3 vs your 0.0.0.0 maybe thats the reason?"

No it doesn't. Our USG is sending REQUESTs always with its assigned client IP by unicast to ISP's DHCP server IP. In case the DHCP server is answering with a NAK (instead of ACK), the USG is immerdiately rejecting its IP and is continuously sending REQUESTs by broadcast from 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255 from this moment. But without success since ISP's DHCP server is reacting to DISCOVER packets on broadcast only and not on REQUESTs on broadcast.

But anyway, I'm not an expert on DHCP programming. But what I see on standard DHCP block diagrams like above in my seconds post ..., whenever receiving a NAK packet, the client has to restart with a new INIT by DHCP_DISCOVER. From my point of view, there is no other option.
    And this is exactly the behaviour what I recognize on your packet captures. When your devices receive a NAK, they reject their assigned IPs and make a broadcast DISCOVER from 0.0.0.0 to 255.255.255.255 as expected, but never a REQUEST on broadcast without an OFFER from DHCP server.

• USG_User
    Answer ✓
    Finally Zyxel provided us with a WK32 firmware which fix the issue. Now USG110 is correctly answering with a new DHCP DISCOVER after receiving a DHCP NAK from ISP's DHCP server. Thanks to Zyxel_Stan for excellent cooperation.
    Hope that the fix will be permanently integrated into next official firmware release.
  • USG_User
    Finally Zyxel provided us with a WK32 firmware which fix the DHCP issue. Now our USG110 answeres correctly with a new DHCP DISCOVER after receiving a DHCP NAK packet from ISP's DHCP server. Special thanks to Zyxel_Stan for excellent cooperation.