2 Internet connections, 1 ZyWall 310, 2 Different paths based on FW rules.

Options
SyLvEsTeR_AFS
SyLvEsTeR_AFS Posts: 3
First Comment
edited January 2023 in Security
Hello All,
I am new to Zyxel products and not fully briefed on what is and is not possible in general on most firewalls.  I know how I would like it to work, but thus far after a couple of days doing the Google thing, I am still stuck.

We have just had a second internet connection installed in our office, a Fiber.  We have a VDSL line already and that is working fine over PPPoE from ZyWall 310 to a Draytek Modem.

We do not want to switch everything over to the Fiber, we only want to assign specific tasks to it, like VPN.

Currently ge1 is connected to VDSL modem, ge2 is for the Fiber.

I went to Network -> Interface -> Ethernet -> ge2 and defined the: - 
Interface Type as External
IP, subnet and Gateway

Now I am stuck at Zone.  The current VDSL is assign to WAN
If I go to Object -> Zone and look at System Default. WAN Zone has ge1_ppp,ge1 and vdsl_vlan7 as members. All good!

This is where I am stuck, you see, I do not want to do any kind of fancy load balancing between the two lines, I simple want to define which traffic goes over each WAN connection.

I thought to myself, Zone names are really just that, a name, WAN or LAN1, LAN2,DMZ ect dont matter, it is just a matter of defining what goes where under Security Policy -> Policy Control.

So, I assigned LAN2 to Zone in the Interfrace -> Ethernet -> ge2 (because it has nothing referencing it in Object -> Zone menu).

I figured the easiest way to test this would be to change our guest VLAN to use the fiber.  So I changed all Security Policies for the guest VLAN in Policy control to point at LAN2 instead of WAN.  

I assume you have all figured out that this has not worked...
or are surprised that it has not worked...

And now I am here to ask for help please.