Clarification regarding LAN1 port of NWA210AX

Options
kevindd992002
kevindd992002 Posts: 19  Freshman Member
First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
edited May 21 in Wireless

So I'm reading this about the LAN1 port of my NWA210AX:


My question is: are both ports (LAN1 and Uplink) bridged together or does the NWA210AX have an internal switch for these two ports? Bridging and switching are two completely different things, as you know.

Best Answers

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓
    Options

    Hi @kevindd992002

    The behavior of LAN1 and Uplink on the NWA210AX depends on your configuration. When VLANs are not specifically configured on the LAN port, LAN1 and Uplink are indeed bridged together. However, if you configure different VLANs for the LAN port, it can belong to multiple VLAN groups simultaneously, resembling a switching behavior.

    In summary:

    1. Without VLAN Configuration: LAN1 and Uplink are bridged together.
    2. With VLAN Configuration: The LAN port can belong to different VLAN groups, exhibiting switching-like behavior.

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited September 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

    Hi @kevindd992002

    The AP LAN port settings are aligned with the VLAN configuration on the switch. To achieve the desired functionality, you should set the LAN port's PVID (Port VLAN ID), specify allowed VLANs, and configure TX tagging as needed. Here are reference instructions for both standalone mode and Nebula Cloud mode:

    • In Standalone mode
      You may configure the LAN PVID, allowed VLANs, and TX tagging at CONFIGURATION > Network > VLAN > LAN Setting
    • In Nebula Cloud Mode
      You may configure the AP LAN PVID and allowed VLANs at Site-wide > Configure > Access points > AP & port settings > Port setting.
      By setting the PVID, the port is automatically designated as an untagged member of the specified VLAN in the background.

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay

All Replies

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓
    Options

    Hi @kevindd992002

    The behavior of LAN1 and Uplink on the NWA210AX depends on your configuration. When VLANs are not specifically configured on the LAN port, LAN1 and Uplink are indeed bridged together. However, if you configure different VLANs for the LAN port, it can belong to multiple VLAN groups simultaneously, resembling a switching behavior.

    In summary:

    1. Without VLAN Configuration: LAN1 and Uplink are bridged together.
    2. With VLAN Configuration: The LAN port can belong to different VLAN groups, exhibiting switching-like behavior.

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay

  • kevindd992002
    kevindd992002 Posts: 19  Freshman Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
    Options

    Right. But physically, both ports are wired together as pass-through, yeah?

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    Hi @kevindd992002

    As mentioned earlier, the behavior of LAN1 and Uplink ports on the access point depends on how you've configured them. Generally, the uplink port is designed for transmitting outgoing data to a router or other uplink network devices, while the LAN1 port is intended for communication with AP clients, including PCs, other switches, and similar devices.

    To offer you more precise assistance, could you please share additional details about your specific usage or configuration? This additional information will allow us to gain a deeper understanding of your requirements and provide you with the most relevant guidance.

    Thank you!

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay

  • kevindd992002
    kevindd992002 Posts: 19  Freshman Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
    Options

    Look, I completely understand what you're saying. But my question is about how they are physically wired regardless of the config.

    If they are physically wired like a switch, both ports are independent of each other. The uplink port can be a trunk/tagged port received multiple tagged packets and the lan1 port can be configured as an untagged port or another tagged/trunk port, just how a regular managed switch works.

    But if they are wired as a bridge, if the uplink port is receiveing multiple tagged packets, then that will just carry over to the lan1 port.

    My setup is simple. Main switch to AP (using the uplink port) and the AP to another switch (using the lan1 port). I'm assuming both ports are bridged, so the 2nd switch should also be configured so that the AP port is tagged/trunk.

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited September 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

    Hi @kevindd992002

    The AP LAN port settings are aligned with the VLAN configuration on the switch. To achieve the desired functionality, you should set the LAN port's PVID (Port VLAN ID), specify allowed VLANs, and configure TX tagging as needed. Here are reference instructions for both standalone mode and Nebula Cloud mode:

    • In Standalone mode
      You may configure the LAN PVID, allowed VLANs, and TX tagging at CONFIGURATION > Network > VLAN > LAN Setting
    • In Nebula Cloud Mode
      You may configure the AP LAN PVID and allowed VLANs at Site-wide > Configure > Access points > AP & port settings > Port setting.
      By setting the PVID, the port is automatically designated as an untagged member of the specified VLAN in the background.

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay

  • kevindd992002
    kevindd992002 Posts: 19  Freshman Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
    Options

    Ok, so PVID is the native VLAN for that port? And the allowed VLANs are the tagged VLANs for that port?

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    Yes, you may say that.

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay

  • kevindd992002
    kevindd992002 Posts: 19  Freshman Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
    Options

    Can you assign a set of allowed VLANs on the uplink port that's different from the set of allowed VLANs on the lan1 port?

  • Zyxel_Kay
    Zyxel_Kay Posts: 644  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    Hi @kevindd992002

    For the uplink port of the access point, you cannot directly set the allowed VLANs. Instead, you should configure the allowed VLANs on your main switch, which is connected to the AP's uplink port. The VLAN configuration for the uplink port should be handled on the upstream switch to control which VLANs are allowed on the network segment connected to the AP's uplink port.

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kay