Is my VLAN configuration correct?

Options
Peter Tselios
Peter Tselios Posts: 16  Freshman Member
First Anniversary 10 Comments
edited December 2023 in Switch

Hello,

This is my first attempt to configure VLANs on my home office network.

I have a GS1900-8HP as my primary switch and a couple of Ubiquiti mini (that will be configured later)

I need to setup 4 VLANs on the network:

1. VLAN 1 is the untagged, PVID that will be used for all network traffic from Wifi and other PCs on the network
  2. VLAN 10 is a network that will be used from the Guest network
  3. VLAN 120 is a network that will be used from the home lab servers/devices
  4. VLAN 121 is the storage network

What I need is:
Port 1,5,8 on the switch should allow traffic from all the above networks/VLANs. Port 1 is connected to the main router.

All other ports should only allow traffic from VLAN/PVID 1.

My current configuration is:

And:

And (the following is identical for VLANs 10, 120, 121:

My questions are:

1. Is this configuration the correct one?

2. Is traffic isolated? I am asking because I don't fully understand the meaning of the "Ingress Check" and VLAN Trunk options on the first picture. Do I have to enable them for all ports, or just the ports that have the VLANs assigned?

3. Do I need to enable VLAN Trunk on ports 1,5,8? I have it enabled, but I think it's not needed since those ports are not used as an uplink to another switch.

4. Regarding the isolation, will my current setup ensure that if I setup a machine that will send tagged traffic (let's say 121) on port 3, the traffic will be blocked?

Best Answers

• Zyxel_Melen
    Zyxel_Melen Posts: 1,656  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited January 3 Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Peter Tselios,

The configuration is correct if ports 5 and 8 are connecting to other switches. If not, what device are you going to connect? In addition, you may reference this FAQ to set up VLANs.