DHCP Table - edit host names

Options
eddyshere
eddyshere Posts: 15
Friend Collector First Comment
edited February 8 in USG FLEX H Series

When will the host names in the DHCP table be editable ?

Having a huge DHCP Table with dozen of reservations it is a real pain without being able to enter a meaningfull host name.

I know firmware is planned for april 2024 but let's be honest here H series (uOS) was just not ready to be sold and i feel trapped now even more having 1 active gold abo for H series and i have not renewed on the regular flex500!

At least I did not change all the Zywall's we run but time is maybe right to search for alternatives

If new firmware is planned within a 5 month release cycle….come on ?!?…

Accepted Solution

All Replies

  • Zyxel_Kevin
    Zyxel_Kevin Posts: 835  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    Hi @eddyshere ,

    Greeting Forum, Firewall learns the hostname from DHCP client reqest.

    We don't have option can modify hostname on GUI and CLI currently.

    Thank your suggestion we will evaulate the feature.

    Kevin

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kevin

  • eddyshere
    eddyshere Posts: 15
    Friend Collector First Comment
    edited February 17
    Options

    No need to evaluate please FIX the feature then.

    I'm talking for RESERVED ip's. currently the firewall attributes automatically the name : host_xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    so either it discovers these also right or if not possible give a way to edit the automatically displayed name

  • PeterUK
    PeterUK Posts: 2,959  Guru Member
    Community MVP First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector
    edited February 18
    Options

    So the FLEX can display a host name from DHCP but as soon as you reserve it goes to host_xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx its some what not a bug just what happens when you do a reserve.

    What you want is a label or yes the DHCP server with the reserve listing to show from DHCP the host name like it does without a reserve.

  • Zyxel_Kevin
    Zyxel_Kevin Posts: 835  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    Hi @eddyshere ,

    Sorry for the misunderstood,

    Currently you can use CLI to define the Host Name. Please kindly find the command:

    #edit running

    #vrf main dhcp server {subnet} host {your hostname} {MAC_Addr} {IP}

    #commit

    For example:

    #vrf main dhcp server 192.168.1.0/24 host TESTUSER 00:00:00:11:11:11 192.168.1.4

    Thank you

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kevin

  • bbp
    bbp Posts: 27  Freshman Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    That won't parse, you have to use quotes, like this:

    vrf "main" dhcp server subnet "192.168.12.0/24" host "myhostname-example" "192.168.12.77" "00:00:00:00:00:00"

  • teun_jrit_nl
    Options

    That way is not working. The new update in April will add the description per device like in the other firmwares.

  • Zyxel_Kevin
    Zyxel_Kevin Posts: 835  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓
    Options

    Hi ,

    We are going to support edit host name in next version.

    And upcoming in Apr.

    Thank you

    Share yours now! https://bit.ly/4aO0BMF

    Kevin

  • eddyshere
    eddyshere Posts: 15
    Friend Collector First Comment
    Options

    1.20 installed : THANK YOU for the functionality

  • bbp
    bbp Posts: 27  Freshman Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options

    There is a bug with Description Column. When you select description column, the change doesn't stick. You have to select it every time you view DHCP table. It should remember the setting.