Dynamic NAT with multiple external public addresses

ERR
ERR Posts: 2
First Comment
edited April 2021 in Security

Hello,

I am new with Zyxel. I am trying to setup an USG20-VPN to replace an existing setup made like this:

ISP give the customer different public IP address (i.e. 8.0.0.1 - 8.0.0.6). The internal network is a single local subnet (i.e. 10.0.0.0/16).

The firewall is using 8.0.0.1 on the WAN port.

What I am trying to achieve is to use two public IP addresses used to NAT the local network. These public addresses are different from the WAN port address (i.e. are 8.0.0.2 and 8.0.0.3).

I have created two virtual WAN interfaces with 8.0.0.2 and 8.0.0.3 ; then I defined a IP RANGE object with these two adresses.

On the Network -> NAT area I have tried to create a "Many 1:1 NAT" with the external object and the LAN1_SUBNET internal net, but the I have the following error displayed "Warning Message: 'The IP Configuration is invalid. Please check the Original IP and Mapped IP.'".

I am unsure this is the correct way to do it. And that it is possible to do it with the USG20-VPN.

Any help is welcome.

Regards

All Replies

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 213  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary Friend Collector First Answer First Comment
    edited January 2020

Hello @ERR and welcome to the forum!

I guess you want that specific internal IPs or subnets should use a specific WAN IP when going out into the internet?

Then please follow this guide here from page 4 on ("SNAT Routing):

https://onesecurity.zyxel.com/img/uploads/Policy_Routing_Walkthrough.pdf

Virtual WAN interfaces and "Many 1:1 NAT" rules are not needed and you can remove them.

I hope this helps!

Best regards

Lukas

• ERR
    ERR Posts: 2
    First Comment

Hello Lukas,

No, I don't want to set the internal IP or subnet to use a specific WAN IP.