Any firmware updates for Armor G5

Options
124

All Replies

  • Evlo
    Evlo Posts: 4
    First Comment
    Options
    BTW I don't get it, what is the business reason to not support openWrt etc.? I'm not buying the device because of the state of the official software and it is not like I will buy more expensive one from zyxel. I'm honestly confused by that behaviour.
  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 863  Guru Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options
    Evlo said:
    BTW I don't get it, what is the business reason to not support openWrt etc.? I'm not buying the device because of the state of the official software and it is not like I will buy more expensive one from zyxel. I'm honestly confused by that behaviour.
    Hello @Evlo

    as is clear from https://forum.openwrt.org/t/openwrt-support-for-armor-g5-nbg7815/98598 this model is already running firmware based on OpenWRT.

    Zyxel have made modifications to the open source it seems, and so only support those modifications commercially.

    Kind regards,
         Tony (I am a user, and don't work for Zyxel.)
  • Anonym
    Anonym Posts: 2
    Friend Collector First Comment
    Options

    Hi so I wanted to reopen/update this thread because there is still no updated firmware version. The features are still semi functional or in some cases not even implemented even though I was assured they were by their sales person. All in all I looked at the router for an hour and started playing with the thought of returning it, it is not the prosumer device, I thought it would be.

  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 863  Guru Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited March 2023
    Options

    Hello @Anonym

    Welcome to the forum.

    Are you able to post a list of the promised features that you think are not working or are missing from the Armor G5 please?

    This would allow people who work for Zyxel to respond and say whether they will ever be implemented or not.

  • dursun
    dursun Posts: 11  Freshman Member
    10 Comments Friend Collector
    edited March 2023
    Options

    Hi @tonygibbs16

    What is missing in Armor G5 and Armor G1 is VLAN assignment, even in normal devices, it does not exist in this comprehensive device, I hope this deficiency will be eliminated with an update soon, otherwise the device will remain in its box empty.

    Best Regards.

  • Anonym
    Anonym Posts: 2
    Friend Collector First Comment
    Options

    I'm not at my Desktop wright now, I had a list in which were things like support for V-LANs , the Open VPN support not working without ddns enabled and set, only support for like 5 ddns providers, Limiting limitations on port forwarding rules, not being able to send out multiple SSIDs for different networks (although technically this is working since we have a guest network).

    And the most severe and in Germany illegally (§327f bgb) no software updates since 3 gears. For a device that is reachable through the internet that is unacceptable.

    I have read trough the whole chat to this point, and I see no point in keeping the device if there are no software updates and no meaningful reaction from Zyxel.

    that is the reason why after just 4 hours with the device i made the decision to send it back and go with an custom solution.

  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 863  Guru Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited March 2023
    Options

    Hello @dursan

    I guess there might be a possible way forward for Armor G5 if someone would write the VLAN tagging on the WAN into the OpenWRT open source software… to work with PPPoE.

    Armor G5 does not have a DSL WAN port or fibre WAN port.

    Looking at https://youtu.be/zMze7luKmBg the PPPoE with VLAN tagging on WAN is already in OpenWRT since December 2020.

    Therefore the Armor G5 router might already do PPPoE VLAN tagging for WAN when connected to a modem in bridge mode.

    - The Zyxel troubleshooting page at https://support.zyxel.eu/hc/en-us/articles/5367490332050-NBG-Series-Troubleshooting shows exactly that set-up with the Armor G5 connected to a modem.

    Kind regards,

    Tony

  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 863  Guru Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited March 2023
    Options

    Hello @Anonym

    Thanks for your reply with the feature list.

    I did not know about that peice of German law.

    https://haerting.de/en/insights/consumer-protection-in-the-light-of-digitalisation/ talks about the impact of section 327f BGB, and mentions that updates need to be in the contracts.

    I feel that the discussion is who is the contract with for this device…

    There was a firmware update for the Armor G5 (NBG7815) in September 2021 to address DNSpooq vulnerability, see below.

    and another firmware update in October/November 2021, see https://download.zyxel.com/Armor_G5_(NBG7815)/release_note/Armor%20G5%20(NBG7815)_V1.00(ABSK.7)C0.pdf to address a security vulnerability see https://www.zyxel.com/global/en/support/security-advisories/zyxel-security-advisory-for-pre-configured-password-management-vulnerability-of-home-routers-and-wifi-systems

    The user guide available at https://www.zyxel.com/uk/en-gb/support/download?model=armor-g5-nbg7815 says that when the router is configured using the Wizard then a check is made for updated firmware.

    Kind regards, Tony

  • dursun
    dursun Posts: 11  Freshman Member
    10 Comments Friend Collector
    Options

    @tonygibbs16

    Hello again,

    I already know this way of connection, I have provided internet access in this way, but I do not want to throw another modem in between, the zyxel support team in Türkiye told me that I could set it up directly on the phone without a modem, so I bought the device, but unfortunately, I cannot connect the device directly with gpon fiber without adding a modem to it. The only shortcoming is Armor. It is the VLAN assignment on the g1 device.

    Kind regards.

  • dursun
    dursun Posts: 11  Freshman Member
    10 Comments Friend Collector
    Options

    Hello again,

    I already know this way of connection, I have provided internet access in this way, but I do not want to throw another modem in between, the zyxel support team in Türkiye told me that I could set it up directly on the phone without a modem, so I bought the device, but unfortunately, I cannot connect the device directly with gpon fiber without adding a modem to it. The only shortcoming is Armor. It is the VLAN assignment on the g1 device.

    Kind regards.

Consumer Product Help Center