ZYWALL USG 20 KEEPS REBOOTING

Options
luca2021
luca2021 Posts: 2
edited September 2021 in Security
I've been using my Zywall USG 20 for many years without any problem.
In the last few weeks it keeps rebooting, randomly, every 10/20 minutes.
No changes have been made to the firewall configuration, it's still got the original firmware.
I tried to replace the power adapter, but the problem is still there.
Any suggestions?

EDIT
Adding some info. The log shows these recurrent alerts by App Watch Dog:

- ctipd.bin is dead at (date/time)
- App watch dog recover ctipd.bin dead at the 3 time

- App watch dog stop to recover ctipd.bin. Daemon state: dead
- ctipd.bin is dead at (date/time)
- diagnostic-info is collecting now. Wait it to complete [*there are a few identical entries of this alert]

I noticed that, after these alerts, CPU usage keeps growing up to almost 100%, then the device reboots.

Best Answers

• Zyxel_Stanley
    Zyxel_Stanley Posts: 1,366  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited September 2021 Answer ✓
    Options
    It's good to know the firmware is helpful in your case.
    In upgrade scenario, configuration will without any problem....due to all of configuration are supported in newer firmware.  But we still suggest to backup configuration before firmware upgrade.

During firmware upgrade process, it may take full mins. Browser may already flush session before device boots up completely. So user may need to refresh browser after device booted up success.

All Replies

• luca2021
    Options
    I updated the firmware uploading the latest release you provided: everything seems back to normal and the log is not showing any alert! Thank you!
    P.S. I was afraid that with a firmware update I would lose all my configuration details but I found out they are untouched, very well.