No internet with AP that is connected to a Zyxel VMG8825-B50B

Hello,
I'm having a weird issue.
I have a TP-Link AX10 configured as an Access Point, connected to a Zyxel VMG8825-B50B router via a cable.

The AX10 gets an IP address from the router.
Wired clients to the AX10 are getting internet access, but any wireless clients don't.
The wireless clients get an IP address in the network.

I've tried connecting the AX10 to a non-Zyxel router (D-Link) and it worked.
I've connected the AX10 to 2 different Zyxel models, and both have this issue.

What settings in the VMG8825-B50B prevent wireless clients from accessing the internet?


All Replies

  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 411
    5 Answers First Comment Friend Collector First Anniversary
     Master Member
    edited May 23
    Hi @BrianStrot

    The fact that you get the same behaviour when the TP-Link AX10 is connected to 2 different Zyxel models makes me think that the issue is with the AX10.

    It could be a firewall set-up issue in the AX10, see https://www.tp-link.com/us/user-guides/archer-ax10&ax1500_v1/chapter-9-network-security for some information.

    It might also be the AX10's access control feature, where none of your devices are on the whitelist.

    some ideas for you to try are:

    • It might be worth trying the AX10 with its firewall and access control turned off, to see if that makes it work or not...
    • and looking in Zyxel logs to see if the firewall in the VMG8825-B50B is blocking access or not...
    • and maybe capturing a Wireshark log on a wirelessly connected device to see what that logs...
    • and also seeing if ping to the Zyxel VMG8825-B50B works, and also try traceroute/tracert to see if the wireless connected devices can get to the VMG8825-B50B.
    • and also if DNS lookup is working, through trying nslookup.

    Please post more information / queries here if you want.

    Kind regards,
          Tony
  • BrianStrot
    BrianStrot Posts: 4
    Friend Collector

    The AX10 did work with a different vendor router (D-Link), with the same settings.

  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 411
    5 Answers First Comment Friend Collector First Anniversary
     Master Member
    edited May 25
    Hi @BrianStrot

    Thanks for your reply. I saw that you wrote that.

    Have you been able to try out any of the diagnostic suggestions I made?

    Are the wireless clients being given IP addresses in the same IP subnet as the wired clients?
        - can the wireless clients ping the wired clients?

    At present, I cannot help you further, because I don't know what doesn't work and where it is broken.

    Kind regards,
         Tony
  • BrianStrot
    BrianStrot Posts: 4
    Friend Collector
    edited May 27
    Hi @BrianStrot

    The fact that you get the same behaviour when the TP-Link AX10 is connected to 2 different Zyxel models makes me think that the issue is with the AX10.

    It could be a firewall set-up issue in the AX10, see https://www.tp-link.com/us/user-guides/archer-ax10&ax1500_v1/chapter-9-network-security for some information.

    It might also be the AX10's access control feature, where none of your devices are on the whitelist.

    some ideas for you to try are:

    • It might be worth trying the AX10 with its firewall and access control turned off, to see if that makes it work or not...
    • and looking in Zyxel logs to see if the firewall in the VMG8825-B50B is blocking access or not...
    • and maybe capturing a Wireshark log on a wirelessly connected device to see what that logs...
    • and also seeing if ping to the Zyxel VMG8825-B50B works, and also try traceroute/tracert to see if the wireless connected devices can get to the VMG8825-B50B.
    • and also if DNS lookup is working, through trying nslookup.

    Please post more information / queries here if you want.

    Kind regards,
          Tony

    - The AX10 in access point mode doesn't have access control or a firewall, I've checked.
    - For some reason the logging feature in the router is not working, I've tried setting up kiwi syslog server, but it's not getting any messages from the router.
    - Didn't try that.
    - Pings to the Zyxel router work, as well as tracert.
    - DNS lookup doesn't work.

    The wireless clients get an IP from the same subnet, and can ping other clients, wired and wireless, in the network.

    I've noticed that wireless clients that are connected through the AX10 are listed as wired in the Zyxel.

    Thank you for your efforts so far to try and help me with this.

    Brian
  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 411
    5 Answers First Comment Friend Collector First Anniversary
     Master Member
    Thanks @BrianStrot for your mail. You're welcome.

    Thanks for the diagnostic information. I think that it is very helpful.

    It seems like you have physical connectivity to the Zyxel router, and if that is showing the wireless clients as wired on its connectivity connected devices page, see figure 57 in the user guide at https://download.zyxel.com/VMG8825-B50B/user_guide/VMG8825-B50B_V5.13_5.50.pdf then that is a good sign too.

    I think that the DNS lookup is not working is significant.
         - when the DNS lookup fails, then does it say which DNS server is being queried?
                  - It might be worth setting the DNS server entries in the VMG8825-B50B and in the AX10 to point to Google DNS of 8.8.8.8 and seeing if that makes the DNS lookup succeed or not?
                          - FAQ Q4 in the AX10 manual at https://static.tp-link.com/2019/201909/20190919/1910012597_Archer%20AX10AX15001.0_UG_V1.pdf says how to do this for the AX10.
                          - Table 30 in the VMG8825-B50B manual at  a https://download.zyxel.com/VMG8825-B50B/user_guide/VMG8825-B50B_V5.13_5.50.pdf says how to set a Static DNS address to force it to use a DNS server such as Google DNS on 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.
                    - maybe try the AX10 first...

    I hope that this is helpful and works for you.

    Kind regards,
         Tony





  • BrianStrot
    BrianStrot Posts: 4
    Friend Collector

    I've tried connecting with a pc to the AX10 through wifi.
    Running the nslookup command for www.google.com outputs:
    server: home
    address: 192.168.1.1 //(my default gateway for the zyxel)

    non-authoritative answer:
    name: www.google.com
    addresses: 2a00:1450:4001:827::2004
    142.250.185.100

    pinging 142.250.185.100 gives 4 request timeout

    setting 8.8.8.8 as dns on the zyxel doesn't help
    the ax10 in AP mode doesn't have an option to set dns

  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 411
    5 Answers First Comment Friend Collector First Anniversary
     Master Member
    edited June 6
    Thanks @BrianStrot Brian for your post.

    I can see that DNS resolves but Ping fails.

    Can you try a tracert from PC you have connected by WiFi through the AX10 please to the IP address returned for www.google.com when you do the nslookup please?

         - This should help confirm that the pings are getting to the Internet.

    I get the following when I do it:

    nslookup www.google.com
    Server:  dns.google
    Address:  8.8.8.8

    Non-authoritative answer:
    Name:    www.google.com
    Addresses:  2a00:1450:4009:81d::2004
              142.250.187.196

    ping 142.250.187.196

    Pinging 142.250.187.196 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 142.250.187.196: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=117
    Reply from 142.250.187.196: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=117
    Reply from 142.250.187.196: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=117
    Reply from 142.250.187.196: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=117

    Ping statistics for 142.250.187.196:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 15ms, Average = 13ms

    tracert 142.250.187.196

    Tracing route to lhr25s33-in-f4.1e100.net [142.250.187.196]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1     5 ms     3 ms     7 ms  192.168.1.1
      2    20 ms    21 ms    15 ms  lo0-0.bng1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [ ]
      3    12 ms    12 ms    14 ms  lag-3.p1.ixn-lon.zen.net.uk [ ]
      4    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  lag-2.p1.thn-lon.zen.net.uk [ ]
      5    22 ms    17 ms    16 ms  lag-2.br2.thn-lon.zen.net.uk [ ]
      6    13 ms    16 ms    17 ms  72.14.217.190
      7    15 ms    16 ms    15 ms  108.170.246.161
      8    22 ms    14 ms    21 ms  142.251.54.35
      9    13 ms    12 ms    28 ms  lhr25s33-in-f4.1e100.net [142.250.187.196]

    Trace complete.

    Kind regards,
         Tony
  • tonygibbs16
    tonygibbs16 Posts: 411
    5 Answers First Comment Friend Collector First Anniversary
     Master Member
    edited June 6
    Hi Brian @BrianStrot ,

    Thinking further about the problem that you are experiencing, it might also be worth trying Ping and Traceroute from within the Diagnostics part of the AX10, to see if we together can breakdown and localise the problem that you are experiencing.

    Section 13.8 "Test Network Connectivity" part of the TP-Link AX10 user guide available at https://www.tp-link.com/uk/support/download/archer-ax10/#video and https://static.tp-link.com/2019/201909/20190919/1910012597_Archer%20AX10AX15001.0_UG_V1.pdf talks about how to do it.

    It might be worth doing the Ping and Traceroute from within the AX10 itself to www.google.com and seeing what results you get.
          - If it works from there, then we could try looking at the AX10 and PC settings.
          - If it does not work from there, then we could look towards the Zyxel VMG8825-B50B router.

    I hope that this is helpful.

    Kind regards,
         Tony

Consumer Product Help Center