Security Policy Help - Policies are not applying to traffic

Options
ZyxelNewb
ZyxelNewb Posts: 10
First Comment
edited April 2021 in Security
Hi all - I'm going to start off that my background is in Palo Alto, and I'm not familiar with the in's & outs of the Zyxel series. I'm running a USG20-VPN, and have a very simple setup. I'm running three VLAN's (10,20, and 30) on my LAN1 zone. I'm trying to setup my VLAN's so that none of the VLAN's can talk to each other, and only VLAN 10 has admin access to the router administration console. Pretty straight forward, right?  I've got all three VLAN's working properly, I can get DHCP from each subnet. I started off by trying to block VLAN 10 & 20 from each other. I setup a policy route (or so I think) to send all traffic from each VLAN out the default WAN GW as the next hop (see attached screenshots).  Then I setup a firewall policy to block any source to any destination, from VLAN 10 to VLAN 20 as the IPv4 source & destination, and then from VLAN 20 to VLAN 10 as the source and destination respectively. 

First question - is how does the zyxel process the rules? The documentation  on page 553 (ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/USG20-VPN/user_guide/USG20-VPN_V4.32_Ed1.pdf) states that the rules are applied sequentially. I assume that once it hits the first match, it then stops processing so any additional matches do not apply?  Because I've tried putting both these rules at the top, and bottom of the policies, and it didn't make any difference for me.