POE++ IEEE 802.3bt Type 4 (High Power POE)

mw_dw
mw_dw Posts: 10
Friend Collector First Comment
edited February 2023 in Switch Ideas
I was hopeful the XGS2220-HP switches would have high power 90W POE++ ports (IEEE 802.3bt Type 4).  They are only Type 3 60W  :anguished:

I work in the Audio/Video production industry and we're already seeing transport sources requiring POE++ type 4, such as Sony FR7 PTZ Camera https://pro.sony/ue_US/products/ptz-network-cameras/ilme-fr7#ProductResourcesBlock-ilme-fr7
Spec: IEEE 802.3bt Type 4 Class 8
As AVoIP and remote connectivity continues to flourish in Event, Concert, Corporate, and House of Worship, there will be more manufacturers implementing high-power POE++ for all types of devices.
1 votes

Active · Last Updated

Comments

• Zyxel_Melen
    Zyxel_Melen Posts: 1,593  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    edited February 2023
    Hi @mw_dw,

Thanks for sharing your requirement.
    May you share how many 90W PoE port will you need?

Zyxel Melen

• mw_dw

4 - 8 ports. A couple ideal specs would be an 8 port switch (POE++90w x 4 + 4 RJ45) and 16+ port switch (POE++90W x 8 + 8-16 POE+).

• mMontana
    mMontana Posts: 1,298  Guru Member

8 ports POE++ Type 4 Class 8 mean… 400W of peak power consumption.
    8 ports POE++ Type 4 Class 8 plus 8 ports PoE+ peak power goes straight close 650w.

I think that “power supply” is closer to “switch” for define the device. Yeah. Power supply with switching capabilities.

• mMontana
    mMontana Posts: 1,298  Guru Member

Thanks for the links! I learned some new (to me) things.
    4212UX has 720w power budget and a consumption close to 850. I'd rather not take a tea close to this, 50db is quite a song to hear…

At 110V AC also will need thicc power cables, I'm surprised to see C14 connections and no C19

• Zyxel_Melen
    Zyxel_Melen Posts: 1,593  Zyxel Employee

Hi @mw_dw,