I have a question about installation of OS and sleep function of NAS326 ...

Options
Rhoniel
Rhoniel Posts: 5  Freshman Member
edited May 2019 in Personal Cloud Storage

Hello,

I am thinking of buying a Zyxel NAS326 unit and I have two questions.

1) Where is OS/firmware installed on the Zyxel NAS326? Is it contained on the NAND flash or installed in the hard drives? Can I access the web UI of the Zyxel even when no hard drives are installed?

2)  Other NAS companies posted lists of activities and applications/add-ons ( like clock sync, IP assigned by DHCP server, using DDNS feature, using USB printer) which can disable the sleep functions of their NAS units.  Is there any such list of activities for Zyxel NAS units?

Thanks.

#NAS_May_2019

Accepted Solution

• Mijzelf
    Mijzelf Posts: 2,607  Guru Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Personally I have no experience with the 326, but I have a 520, which shares mostly the same firmware, and I have talked a lot about 326's in forums.

There are some daemons which can keep the disks busy, but they can be switched off, or I addressed them in my Tweaks package. Those are an ntpclient (for some reason written in python, which resides on the harddisk, while a binary version is also supplied on the ramdrive), some thumbnail generator, some uploader daemon. After patching/switching off my 520 doesn't spin up it's disks anymore. (Except when it has to, of course).
    DHCP never was a problem, and NTP isn't after switching daemon, from python to binary.

I have no experience with using an USB printer, nor can I remember to have read about spinning up disks on printing. The main complaint I have read about USB printing is that it doesn't work with all printers.

All Replies

• Mijzelf
    Options