Port forward Zyxel VMG8324-B10A

Forward
Forward Posts: 6  Freshman Member
edited November 2019 in Smart Home Product
I'm trying to forward some ports on the Zyxel VMG8324-B10A but it's not working. I've also opened them on my firewall. Firmware version: 1.00(AASL.8)C0 

It's about these ports:



This is how I did it:



Checking if ports are open:








They're not open.

When I do it through DMZ only ports 80 and 443 are open. 1119 and 6120 stay closed even then.

Is it not possible to forward ports on this modem?




#SP_Nov_2019

Comments

  • Forward
    Forward Posts: 6  Freshman Member
    @Hummel the firmware version is 1.00(AASL.8)C0
  • Hummel
    Hummel Posts: 212  Master Member
    edited November 2019
    @Forward,
    Do you connect your local servers with corresponding ports to the LAN side of your VMG8324-B10A?
    In my test, I start an Apache http server with port 6120 and create a port forwarding rule.
    The rule works well.
    But if I disable the Apache server, the state will become Closed.

  • Hummel
    Hummel Posts: 212  Master Member
    edited November 2019
    @Forward,
    The function of Port Forwarding is to forward incoming service requests to the server(s) on your local network.
    From your first picture, it seems you are playing a game and hope the ports can be accessible on your PC.
    I think you can try to disable firewall. You should also check the firewall settings on your PC to make sure those ports are not blocked on your PC. But please also be aware that it is dangerous without the protection of firewall.
  • Forward
    Forward Posts: 6  Freshman Member
    @Hummel Thank you for your reply. As I can see you have the same modem and you are able to open port 6120. So I guess I'm doing something wrong. 

    I indeed try to connect to the Blizzard Network to play games. This was possible till I got this new modem. Blizzard says I need to have those ports open to get connected. 

    I have opened the ports on my firewall. I even shut down the firewall (on modem and windows) for a bit and tested it that way. But even then it doesn't show the port open. 

    Looking further on the internet I've stubmled upon a way to see which ports are blocked or open to the firewall, my test gave me this (this time trying to open 3724):



    Look at my modem firewall and windows firewall, both accepting 3724:



    Also port forwarding again with IPv4 adress:


    It stays closed no matter what I try.



    ''Do you connect your local servers with corresponding ports to the LAN side of your VMG8324-B10A?''

    I don't understand this question, do you mean the IPv4-adres?
  • Hummel
    Hummel Posts: 212  Master Member
    edited November 2019
    @Forward,
    If you see the test result of mine, you should see I use a http server to test it.
    What I mean is if there is no server at the LAN side listening to the port, it also shows Closed in my test even I have already created the rule. Only when I enable the http server to listen the port, I can see the status of port is Open as you can see when testing with the port checker.
    Have you tried to run your game and then run the port checking to see if those ports are open at the same time?
  • Forward
    Forward Posts: 6  Freshman Member
    @Hummel, I have tried running the game and checking if ports are open. Staying closed.


    How can I enable the http server to listen to the port?
  • Hummel
    Hummel Posts: 212  Master Member
    Enable the http server and then it will listen to the port. No need to do anything.
    If you can use your browser to open the website, it means the server is listening the corresponding port.
  • Forward
    Forward Posts: 6  Freshman Member
    edited November 2019
    @Hummel ah you mean I should enter https://192.168.1.66:6120 in the browser and run the check. Sorry am not so technical with the words.

    This is what it says when I enter it in the browser + run the check:


    I'm afraid it's not going to open. Tried it with 1119. Tried it with firewall down. Tried it with DMZ (then still only 80 and 443 are open). 

    Thinking to change my ISP.
  • Hummel
    Hummel Posts: 212  Master Member
    edited November 2019
    @Forward,
    No, that is not what I mean,
    In my test, I install Apache http server and I change the port to 6120 to run a test.
    So assume the IP address of your PC with the http server is 192.168.1.66, then you should be able to use your browser to access http://192.168.1.66:6120. You can see my screenshot in the previous article. It shows "It works!" when I access the http server to test if it is enabled.


    As I know you don't install any http server, so you need to install a http server first in order to run the same test I did. The test I ran is to show you there is no problem for the port forwarding function. You don't really need to follow my test to run a test actually. I have no idea why your game doesn't work even after you create those rule for the game. Maybe you should contact the game company for more support.
  • Forward
    Forward Posts: 6  Freshman Member
    @Hummel thank you for your time and effort. I'm not so good with installing http servers and whatnot, I googled it but it's too technical. I'll just leave it here. I've tried whatever I can do to no avail. Best thing to do is change my ISP now. Thanks.