NBG6616 IP address setting

Nada
Nada Posts: 6  Freshman Member
edited June 2020 in Home Router
Hi,
I recently bought a second hand NBG6616 router.
I immediately updated the firmware to the latest version (8), and it seems to work ok.
My main router is at 192.168.0.1, subnet 255.255.255.0 / I want the NBG6616 at 192.168.0.232, running as an access point.
I am not able to specify the IP address, it reset to 10.0.0.1 everytime..which does not make any sense to me.
I have a lot of experience configuring routers, but this time I do not understand the logic.

how to handle? Who can advise me?

#Router_May_2020

Accepted Solution

• Zyxel_Freda
    Zyxel_Freda Posts: 397  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary Friend Collector First Answer First Comment
    Answer ✓
    Hi @Nada,
    Here's the change procedures from reset the NBG6616 to factory default to access it in AP mode. Please refer to below steps.
    1. Press the RESET button on the AP more than 5 seconds to set the NBG6616 back to factory default. After reset to default, please connect the WAN port (the blue port) to the modem/router which can access the Internet, and connect the NB/PC to LAN port (the yellow ports).
    2. After the NBG6616 reset to factory default, it would be in router mode and default IP is 192.168.1.1. If the NBG6616 WAN port gets an IP 192.168.1.x from the router/DHCP server, the NBG6616 will change its LAN IP to 10.0.0.1 as below.

3. Connect a NB/PC on the NBG6616 LAN port to get a IP with 10.0.0.x and you can access the NBG6616 (IP 10.0.0.1) via this NB/PC.
    4. After log into the NBG6616, the GUI shows easy mode and you can select to Expert Mode.

5. Go to Maintenance> Sys OP Mode to change the Configuration Mode to Access Point Mode. When you click 'Access Point Mode', there's a warning message pop-up and after you check without problem, click OK and Apply the change.

6. The system will restart after countdown.