NAS542 bootloop after Debian/OMV (get a new firmware) (solved)

Options
Triu
Triu Posts: 46  Freshman Member
edited June 2019 in Personal Cloud Storage
I was 2 years on the Debian/OMV on SD-Card.
Now i saw new images from SCP here:http://seafile.servator.de/nas/zyxel/
I wanted to switch back to original firmware first with: sudo /firmware/sbin/info_setenv next_bootfrom 1
Since then i have a bootloop, no matter with, or without SD Card.

Afer a little bit fiddling i got a serial connection (RX and TX are mixed on http//zyxel.nas-central.org )
Log is attached.
Seems the first kernel has a bad checksum and the second is incomplete.
How can i get back the original Firmware?

I am really new to that stuff, i found this information here from Mijzelf
but don't understand that.
set ipaddress <ip1><br>set tftpserver <ip2><br>tftp uImage <some-address><br>mboot <some-address>
Do i need to setup a tftpserver on another machine or
is it just another PC in my Network with this uImage?
It should be V5.21 and found the Link from Mijzelf, but which file is what?

Would be nice if someone could explain it a little bit more detailed.
Thank you

#NAS_May_2019

Comments

• Mijzelf
    Mijzelf Posts: 2,607  Guru Member
    First Anniversary 10 Comments Friend Collector First Answer
    Options
    Seeing the bootlog the firmware kernel in /dev/nand0.kernel1.bb is damaged (or was never there. Have you ever updated the firmware before installing Debian?), and the current environment doesn't specify the right rootfs for the Debian kernel.

Do i need to setup a tftpserver on another machine or is it just another PC in my Network with this uImage?
    A tftpserver is software. It doesn't matter where it runs, as long as it's reachable over network from the NAS.