Advice on selection of APs for SOHO environment.

MagSett
MagSett Posts: 3
Friend Collector
edited August 2022 in WirelessLAN

Hi!
newbie here. I am coming from a consumer grade network equipment and intend to replace this something similar to the NWA/WAX range. 

I am seeking your advice on which of Zyxels APs which would be best value  for my conditions and needs (as below).

Needs;
a) Stability
b) Well functioning quick hand off of wireless devices between APs (without VPN disconnects)
c) QoS capable as 4K-stream video is going to be parallel to work related video conferencing (over vpn) and gaming (that's life w kids).
d) must support multiple SSIDs & VLANs as IoT, guest networks etc shall be separated
e) must be supported by vendor post sales with focus on resolving issues w functionality as well as security.

Conditions;
1) 2800 sqft (260m2) house, (approximately 50x30 feet), 2,5 floors, armoured lightweight concrete outer walls (lower floor) & between floors.
2) incoming fiber - center of one of the shorter walls (eg not centered but one side of house).
3) Fiber 250/250, 1.3ms lag.
4) Some 40 wireless devices majority is AX/AC but still some 802.11n. Increasing amount of 2.4band IoT.

Thank you very much in advance.

All Replies

• Zyxel_Dick
    Zyxel_Dick Posts: 21  Zyxel Employee
    First Anniversary Friend Collector First Comment
    Hi Mmagsett,

Welcome to Zyxel community.
    Zyxel is devoted to providing stable and well-performing products.
    We are experienced in each field solution. 

Based on your Needs and Conditions, I want to promote NWA210AX/NWA610AX/WAX630D-S/WAX650-S for you.
    These 4 APs support 4x4 on 5G band and 2x2/4x4 on 2.4G band, you can select the models based on IOT usage.
    And both WAX630-S and WAX650-S support smart antenna which optimized patterns and focus RF energy to target clients.
    Easy to increase capacity supports more clients.

And one important thing, all of the above APs support Nebula Control Center.